Waging Peace.
Fighting Disease.
Building Hope.
Mental Health Program
Mental Health Program

Mental Health Task Force and National Advisory Council


Task Force Members

  • Rosalynn Carter, Chair

  • Renato D. Alarcon, M.D., M.P.H., Emeritus, Mayo Clinic, Professor of Psychiatry, College of Medicine

  • William R. Beardslee, M.D., Director, Baer Prevention Initiatives and Chairman Emeritus, Children's Hospital, Boston, Mass.

  • Carl C. Bell, M.D., FAPA, FAC.Psych., President and CEO, Community Mental Health Council, University of Illinois

  • Benjamin G. Druss, M.D., M.P.H., Rosalynn Carter Endowed Chair for Mental Health
    Professor of Health Policy & Management Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University

  • Leisa R. Easom, Ph.D., R.N., Director, Rosalynn Carter Institute for Caregiving

  • Mary Jane England, M.D., Visiting Professor, Boston University School of Public Health

  • W. Rodney Hammond, Ph.D., (Retired) Director
    Division of Violence Prevention, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  • Rosa Gil, D.S.W., President & CEO, Comunilife, Inc.

  • Ethleen Iron Cloud-Two Dogs, M.S., Porcupine, S.D.

  • Nadine J. Kaslow, Ph.D., ABPP Professor and Chief Psychologist
    Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Emory University School of Medicine

  • Ruth Perou, Ph.D., Child Development Studies Team Leader, Division of Human Development & Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  • Sally Engelhard Pingree, President, The S. Engelhard Center;  Trustee, The Charles Engelhard Foundation; Member, The Carter Center Board of Trustees

  • Leslie Scallet, J.D., Washington, DC

  • Joel Slack, President, Slack Consulting, LLC


Ex-Officio Members

  • Kathryn Cade, White House Projects Director for First Lady Rosalynn Carter, 1977-80;  Chair, Board of Trustees, Judge Baker Children's Center

  • Gregory L. Fricchione, M.D., Associate Chief of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital, Director, The Carter Center Mental Health Program, 2000 – 2002

  • John J. Gates, Ph.D., Director, The Carter Center Mental Health Program, 1993 - 1999

  • Larke Huang, Ph.D., Senior Advisory on Children, Office of the Administrator, SAMHSA



  • William Foege, M.D., Director, Centers for Disease Control, 1977 83;
    Health Policy Fellow, The Carter Center


National Advisory Council

  • William G. Baker, Jr.,  M.D., Founder, Chrysalis Farms, LLC

  • Johnnetta B. Cole, Ph.D., President, Bennett College

  • Jane Delgado, Ph.D., President and Chief Executive Officer,
    National Alliance for Hispanic Health

  • Jeffrey Houpt, M.D., Former Dean and Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs, School of Medicine, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

  • Patrick Kennedy, Former U.S. Representative, D-R.I.

  • Antonia Novello, M.D., Commissioner of Health for New York State Department of Health; Surgeon General of the United States, 1990-1993

  • Robert D. Ray, Governor of Iowa, 1969-83; President Emeritus, Drake University

  • David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D., Surgeon General of the United States, and Assistant Secretary for Health and Human Services, 1994-2001; Director of The Satcher Health Leadership Institute and Poussaint/Satcher/Cosby Chair in Mental Health, Morehouse School of Medicine

  • Richard Surles, Ph.D., Commissioner, New York State Office of Mental Health, 1987-1994; Head of Operations, Comprehensive NeuroScience, Inc.

  • Beverly Tatum, Ph.D., President, Spellman College

  • Cynthia Ann Telles, Ph.D., Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, The University of California at Los Angeles School of Medicine

  • Joanne Woodward, Actress; Director



  • Ambassador Mary Ann Peters, M.S., Chief Executive Officer, The Carter Center 

  • Thomas H. Bornemann, Ed.D., Director, The Carter Center Mental Health Program

  • Lei Ellingson, M.P.P., Senior Associate Director,  The Carter Center Mental Health Program

  • Rebecca Palpant Shimkets, M.S., Associate Director,  The Rosalynn Carter Fellowships for Mental Health Journalism

  • John Bartlett, M.D., M.P.H., Senior Project Advisor, Primary Care Initiative, The Carter Center Mental Health Program

  • Janice Cooper, Ph.D., M.P.A., Country Representative, Liberia Mental Health Initiative

  • Megan Sullivan Toe, M.S.W., Program Associate, Liberia Mental Health Initiative

  • Stephanie Uribe, M.S., M.Ed., Program Associate, The Rosalynn Carter Fellowships for Mental Health Journalism

  • Susan Hunsinger, Program Assistant, The Carter Center Mental Health Program

Funded in part by: Charles Engelhard Foundation

Sign Up for Email Updates

Thanks for Signing Up!

Please leave this field empty

Thanks for Staying Updated!

Now, we invite you to Get Involved