More Links in News & Events

Carter Center Appoints New Members to Board of Councilors

Monday, June 13, 2016

ATLANTA…The Carter Center, a not-for-profit organization advancing peace and health worldwide, has appointed 22 new members to its Board of Councilors, bringing total membership to 205.

The Board of Councilors is a leadership advisory group that promotes understanding of The Carter Center and its activities among opinion leaders and the broader community. Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter, former First Lady Rosalynn Carter, and staff members give updates about the Center’s activities to board members throughout the year.

"Our Board of Councilors creates an intimate link between The Carter Center, the city of Atlanta, and the state of Georgia by helping us to promote the work and mission of the Center in their communities," President Carter said. 

Since its founding in 1987, the Board of Councilors has been led by some of Atlanta's most distinguished civic leaders, including its current chair, Liz Blake, senior vice president (retired), Habitat for Humanity International.

Following are the new councilors:

David Abney, chairman and chief executive officer, United Parcel Service

Raydean Acevedo, president & CEO, Research Management Consultants

Bob Baker, partner, DHR International

Joseph Bild, managing partner, Bild Alternative Investment Corp.

Becky Blalock, managing partner, Advisory Capital

Ritt Carrano, president and CEO, Purchasing Power

Jim Dawson, partner, Crowe Horwath

Johanna Ellis, owner, Atlanta Classic Cars

Joe Evans, chairman, State Bank & Trust Company

Patricia Fritz, vice president of corporate affairs, UCB

Roosevelt Giles, president and CEO, Endpoint Consulting Group

Mitch Jacoby, senior vice president, The Jacoby Group

A. J. Johnson, managing partner, Georgetown Capital

Lorraine Miller, senior VP, director of mergers & acquisitions, MidSouth Bancorp

Julie Miller-Phipps, president, Kaiser Permanente of Georgia

Geoffrey Nnadi, president and CEO, Atlanta Life Financial Group

Jean Reaves Rollins, president, The C Three Group

Jack Sawyer, president, Southeastern Region, Wilmington Trust Wealth Advisory

Christine St.Clare, founder and president, St.Clare Advisors

Wendy Stewart, Atlanta market president, Bank of America

Michael Thomas, chairman and CEO, Thomas Financial Group

Jim Wetrich, CEO, The Wetrich Group