

Waging Peace. Fighting Disease. Building Hope.

The 29th Annual Rosalynn Carter Symposium on Mental Health Policy "The Road Ahead: Challenges And Opportunities for Behavioral Health Care During the Implementation of the Affordable Care Act"

Webcast Agenda

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2013

Please join us in the conversation online by following <u>@CarterCenter</u> on Twitter and using the hashtag <u>#CarterMH13</u>. The Carter Center will be live-tweeting Mrs. Carter's remarks and Secretary Sebelius's keynote address.

3:55 - 4:15 P.M.	Q & A
	Liz Baxter, MPH, Executive Director, Oregon Public Health Institute Pat McManus, PhD, RN, President/CEO, Black Health Coalition of Wisconsin, Inc.
2.15 5.55 pint	Brian Hepburn, MD, Maryland State Mental Hygiene Administration
	Jessica Kendall, MPH, Outreach Director, Enroll America
	Panelists:
	Analysit, Office of Policy, Planning, and Innovation, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
	Moderator: Kevin Malone
2:45 - 3:55 p.m.	Panel I – ENROLLMENT AND OUTREACH
2:30 - 2:45p.m.	Break
	Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer, American Mental Health Counselors Association
	Joel E. Miller, MSEd
2:00 - 2:30 p.m.	"Implications of the Affordable Care Act for Behavioral Health"
	President and Chief Executive Officer, Sheppard Pratt Health System
	Steven Sharfstein, MD, MPA
1:20 - 1:55 p.m.	DAY I KEYNOTE: "Comments from the Field"
	Chur, The Carlet Center Wentur Health Task Force
	Rosalynn Carter Chair, The Carter Center Mental Health Task Force
1:10 – 1:20 p.m.	OPENING REMARKS Reserver
	Director, The Carter Center Mental Health Program
1:00 - 1:10 p.m.	Thomas Bornemann, EdD
1:00 – 1:10 p.m.	WELCOME

4:30 p.m.	Webcast Concludes until 8 p.m.
8:00 - 8:45 p.m.	DINNER CONVERSATION
	Moderator: Andy Miller
	Chief Executive Officer and Editor, Georgia Health News
	Guests: Howard H. Goldman, MD, PhD
	Professor of Psychiatry, University of Maryland School of Medicine
	Ken Thorpe, PhD
	Robert W. Woodruff Professor and Chair, Department of Health Policy and Management, Rollins School of
	Public Health, Emory University
	Q & A
9:00 p.m.	Adjourn

FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 8, 2013 8:30 A.M. – 4:00 P.M.

8:30 - 9:00 a.m.	DAY II KEYNOTE Kathleen Sebelius, MPA Secretary, US Department of Health and Human Services
9:00 – 10:10 a.m.	 Panel II - ACCESS Moderator: Arthur Evans, PhD Commissioner, Philadelphia Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectual Disability Services Panelists: Joe Parks, MD, Chief Clinical Officer, Missouri Department of Mental Health Patrick Fleming, MPA, LSUDC, Director, Salt Lake County Division of Behavioral Services Peter Ashenden, Director of Optum Health Behavioral Solutions Nancy Ridenour, PhD, APRN, BC, FAAN, Dean and Professor, University of New Mexico College of Nursing
10:10 - 10:30 a.m.	Q & A
10:30 – 10:45 a.m.	Break
10:45 – 11:55 a.m.	Panel III - SERVICE DELIVERYModerator: Ron Manderscheid, PhDExecutive Director, National Association of County Behavioral Health and Developmental Disability DirectorsPanelists:Helen Burstin, MD, MPH, Senior Vice President, Performance Measurement, National Quality ForumMichael Barr, MD, MBA, FACP, Senior Vice President, Division of Medical Practice, American College ofPhysiciansTom McLellan, Chief Executive Officer, Treatment Research InstituteSandro Galea, MD, DrPH, Chairman, Epidemiology, Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University,
11:55 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.	Q & A
12:15 - 12:30 p.m.	Webcast concludes until 3:10 p.m.
3:10 - 3:50 p.m.	<u>SUMMATION</u> Facilitator: David Shern, PhD President and CEO, Mental Health America
3:50 - 4:00 p.m.	<u>CONCLUDING REMARKS</u> Rosalynn Carter Chair, The Carter Center Mental Health Task Force
4:00 p.m.	ADJOURN

2013 SYMPOSIUM PLANNING COMMITTEE

John Bartlett, MD, MPH

Senior Project Advisor, Primary Care Initiative Mental Health Program, The Carter Center

Thomas Bornemann, EdD Director Mental Health Program, The Carter Center

Benjamin G. Druss, MD, MPH

Rosalynn Carter Endowed Chair in Mental Health Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University Member, The Carter Center Mental Health Task Force

Jean Ko, PhD

Epidemiologist Maternal and Infant Health Branch, Division of Reproductive Health U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Kevin J. Malone

Public Health Analyst Office of Policy Planning and Innovation SAMHSA

Ron Manderscheid, PhD

Executive Director National Association of Community Behavioral Health and Developmental Disability Directors

Joel E. Miller

Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer American Mental Health Counselors Association