Carter Center Appoints New Members to Board of Councilors


ATLANTA ― The Carter Center, a not-for-profit organization advancing peace and health worldwide, has appointed 26 new members to its Board of Councilors, bringing total membership to 232.

The Board of Councilors is a leadership advisory group that promotes understanding of The Carter Center and its activities among opinion leaders and the broader community. Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter, former First Lady Rosalynn Carter, and staff members give updates about the Center’s activities to board members throughout the year.

“Our Board of Councilors creates an intimate link between The Carter Center, the city of Atlanta, and the state of Georgia by helping us to promote the work and mission of the Center in their communities,” President Carter said. 

Since its founding in 1987, the Board of Councilors has been led by some of Atlanta's most distinguished civic leaders, including its current chair, Shyam K. Reddy, chief administrative officer, senior vice president, corporate development, BlueLinx Corp.

The most recent meeting of the Board of Councilors can be viewed here:

Following are the new councilors:

Brad Alexander, partner, Impact Public Affairs

Sue Boehlke, president and managing director, Informa Tech

Diana Ellsworth, partner, McKinsey & Company

Duriya Farooqui, board director, Intercontinental Exchange and InterContinental Hotels Group

Shalya Forté, director - southeast, Pandora Radio

Dr. Janine Franco, The Village Vets of Decatur

Daniel L. Gordon, executive director, Jabian Consulting

Wab Kadaba, partner, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton

Joe Kiani, CEO & chairman of the board, Masimo Corporation

Sonjui L. Kumar, partner, KPPB Law

Mitchell B. Lewis, director, BlueLinx Holdings

Saadia Madsbjerg, president, The Coca-Cola Foundation

James Marlow, CEO, Clean Energy Advisors

Justice Harold Melton, Partner, Troutman Pepper Hamilton Sanders

Natalia Migal, chief risk officer, LeasePlan USA

Amol S. Naik, principal, Squire Patton Boggs

Jason Perry, office managing partner, Grant Thornton

Mark Pirrung, CEO, Atlanta Beverage Company

Dr. Pravin Reddy, founder, Reddy Aesthetic Institute

Sachin Shailendra, president, SG Contracting

Fahim Siddiqui, senior vice president of information technology, The Home Depot

Laurie Speed, partner, Speed + King Law Firm

Carol Tomé, chief executive officer, United Parcel Service

William A. Vogel, managing principal, Montag & Caldwell

Chris Womack, president, Georgia Power Company

John Tien, managing director, Citigroup, accepted membership on the Board of Councilors in February 2021 and resigned in June upon his swearing-in as deputy secretary of the U. S. Department of Homeland Security.