Communique Following the Post-election Meeting of the Heads of International Election Observation Missions to the 2017 General Elections in Kenya

We, the heads of the following international observer missions present in Kenya — African Union (AU), Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the Commonwealth, East African Community (EAC), European Union (EU), International Conference of the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR), Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), National Democratic Institute (NDI) and The Carter Center — have agreed that:

Following preliminary consultations on our observations and the recent events in Kenya, it is important to remind all stakeholders that the electoral process is still ongoing. We recognise the tallying of results at all levels is a critical part of the process. We therefore call on the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to continue the tallying within the constitutionally provided timeframe, with full integrity and transparency so that all Kenyans can trust the announced results. The IEBC has put in place a process to provide for the integrity and transparency of the elections that should be allowed to continue. To achieve this, IEBC personnel need to be able to work freely in a secure environment, with time to complete the process.

We call on parties and their supporters to follow the tally process within the provisions of the law as the IEBC continues finalizing results based on forms 34A. We note the stated commitment of the IEBC to make scanned copies of forms 34A available to candidates and the public. 

We appeal to all citizens of Kenya to remain committed to peace and the integrity of the electoral process. We urge candidates and parties to use the legally provided channels of dispute resolution in case of any dissatisfaction with the process and to urge their supporters to remain calm. We call upon the security agencies to provide appropriate protection and avoid excessive use of force.

Following the deployment of over 400 observers on election day, some teams will remain on the ground to continue to observe the post-election period.

Our good wishes remain with the people of Kenya.

  1. African Union Election Observation Mission – His Excellency, Thabo Mbeki, former South African President
  2. COMESA Election Observation Mission – Ambassor Dr. Simbi Mubako, former Zimbabwean Minister of Justice
  3. Commonwealth Observation Group – His Excellency, John D. Mahama, former Ghanaian President
  4. EAC Election Observation Mission – Prof. Edward B. Rugumayo, former Cabinet Minister in Uganda
  5. EU Election Observation Mission – Marietje Schaake, Dutch Member of the European Parliament
  6. ICGLR Election Observation Mission – Hon. Makumbi Kamya, Member of Parliament, Republic of Uganda
  7. IGAD Election Observation Mission – Amb. Tewolde Gebremeskel, Director of Peace and Security Division  –  IGAD
  8. NDI Election Observation Mission – Dr. Aisha Abdullahi, former AU Commissioner for Political Affairs; Hon. Karen Bass, U.S. Congresswoman; Professor Attahiru Jega, former Chair of Nigeria’s Independent National Electoral Commission; Justice Yvonne Mokgoro, former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa; and Hon. Christie Todd Whitman, former Governor of New Jersey 
  9. The Carter Center Election Observation Mission – John Kerry, former United States Secretary of State and Massachusetts senator, and Aminata Touré, former Senegalese Prime Minister 
Donate Now

Sign Up For Email

Please sign up below for important news about the work of The Carter Center and special event invitations.

Please leave this field empty
Now, we invite you to Get Involved

Learn More

Back To Top