More Links in Peace Programs

Friends of the Inter-American Democratic Charter

Formed in 2004, the Friends of the Democratic Charter group is composed of former presidents, prime ministers, and Cabinet ministers from the Western Hemisphere who seek to increase the visibility of the Inter-American Democratic Charter and to prevent democratic tensions from erupting into crises. The friends visit countries to assess democratic tensions, encourage citizens and governments to make use of international resources to defend their democracies and resolve constitutional conflicts, and recommend ways for the OAS to apply the Charter in a constructive and preventative manner. The Carter Center serves as secretariat for the Friends. Read more about the Friends' work.


  • Diego Abente Brun, former Minister of Justice and Labor of Paraguay
  • Mariclaire Acosta, former Undersecretary of Foreign Relations for Human Rights and Democracy of Mexico
  • Carlos Ayala Corao, former President Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
  • Nicolás Ardito Barletta, former President of Panama
  • Cecilia Blondet, former Minister for the Advancement of Women and Human Development of Peru
  • Dante Caputo, former Foreign Minister of Argentina
  • Fernando Henrique Cardoso, former President of Brazil
  • Jimmy Carter, former President of the United States of America
  • Jorge Castañeda, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Mexico
  • Joe Clark, former Prime Minister of Canada
  • Humberto de la Calle, former Vice President of Colombia and Gov negotiator for Peace Accords
  • Alejandro Foxley, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Chile
  • Diego García-Sayán, former Foreign Minister of Peru; Judge Inter-American Court of Human Rights
  • César Gaviria, former President of Colombia and former Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS)
  • John Graham, Chair Emeritus, Canadian Foundation for the Americas
  • Osvaldo Hurtado, former President of Ecuador
  • Torquato Jardim, former Justice of the Superior Electoral Tribunal of Brazil; Minister of Justice (on leave)
  • Serena Joseph-Harris, former High Commissioner for the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago  to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Luis Alberto Lacalle, former President of Uruguay
  • Samuel Lewis, former Vice-President and Foreign Minister of Panama
  • John Maisto, former U.S. Ambassador to the OAS
  • John Manley, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada
  • Carlos Mesa, former President of Bolivia
  • Pedro Nikken, former President Inter-American Court for Human Rights, Venezuela
  • Andrés Pastrana, former President of Colombia
  • Sonia Picado, chair of the Board of Directors of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights
  • Sergio Ramirez, former Vice-President of Nicaragua
  • Sir Ronald Sanders, Ambassador of Antigua and Barbuda to OAS 
  • Bruno Stagno, former Foreign Minister of Costa Rica and Deputy Executive Director for Advocacy at Human Rights Watch
  • Eduardo Stein, former Vice President of Guatemala
  • Martín Torrijos, former President of Panama
  • Fernando Tuesta Soldevilla, former Director, National Office of Electoral Processes, Peru
  • Joaquín Villalobos, A principal leader of the Farabundo Marti Nacional Liberation Front (FMLN), signatory of the Peace Agreements of El Salvador in 1992
  • Jennie Lincoln, Director, Latin America and Caribbean Program, Carter Center; Executive Secretary, Friends of the Charter
Donate Now

Sign Up For Email

Please sign up below for important news about the work of The Carter Center and special event invitations.

Please leave this field empty
Now, we invite you to Get Involved
Back To Top